In 1989 the Monterey County Historical Society accepted a Queen Anne style house from the developer of a motel site in downtown Salinas. The house is a valuable addition to the Boronda History Center's Street of History because of its unique design by the noted Central Coast architect William H. Weeks. The house was originally constructed in 1898.
One of the most interesting features of the house is its roof, which is hipped with lower cross gables and a low, conical withches cap topped with a wood finial that covers a portion of the elliptically shaped open porch below. The porch supports are simple tuscan columns with matching pilasters against the structure. A handrail is carried around the porch on delicate turned balusters. The main gable head has an owlish decorative element with paired bulls eye windows. The side gable head is fixed leaded glass with small diamond pattern lights.
Restoration is being done with the cooperation of the Monterey County Jaycees. When completed it will be a house museum depicting lifestyles at the turn of the Century.